Mixing It Up with Chalk Paint

I like finding inexpensive pieces of furniture and refinishing them.  These two bedside tables were purchased at Nebraska Furniture Mart.

IMAG1779

 

I had purchased a sage green bedspread, so I was looking for a complimentary color. I took Annie Sloan Chalk Paint in Chateau Gray (which is really a green/gray) and added Country Grey (which is really a beige/gray) by the spoonful until I got the right color. The lady at the Annie Sloan supply store told me that the small 4 ounce paint container would cover both of these tables.  I was skeptical, but she was right!  I ended up using a clear coat on these tables, not the Annie Sloan wax.

IMAG1781

 

Once I got it right, I dipped a shim in it so I could use it to match other items for the bedroom.  I later used this paint chip/shim to choose an accent pillow for the bed. Try this trick: dip paints sticks in the paint and write the name of the color on the paint stick. Helps to match paint colors on future projects. #welcomehomeomaha

 

fbomahalogo

