Planter Boxes

The thing that I love most about gardening is how plants can be split, reused, or repurposed. In the past, I have dug up and split hostas, forsythias, lilacs, weigelas, peonies, and other plants from friends’ and neighbors’ yards. Every spring I scour through Pinterest looking for the best, most beautiful annuals to plant in my planters. I hope to achieve something like this:

3f0949a8445a64118e488d0a9f001f76

I spend a small fortune on beautiful flowers that will only last one season. Last year I tried something different. I went around my yard and looked for plants that needed to be split. This included hostas and Lily of the Valley. This year I am watching them come back in beautifully. My pots are full, and I just have to go add a few annuals this year! They look beautiful, and I saved money. My pots are not yet completely grown, but I attached some pictures of what I am hoping they will look like this summer. You could also use boxwoods, hydrangea (flowering shrubs), ivy, fern, etc. This year I will use potato vine and alyssum as fillers. Hope this gives you some ideas this spring.

 

