Table and Chairs Brush Up

About 15 years ago, we purchased a formal dining room set. Over time the dark cherry wood became worn and the cream colored fabric that lined the seats had been stained. It was dark and needed a face lift.

imag1303_1

I decided to paint the side chairs, table apron, and legs.  I have had luck with using Annie Sloan chalk paint so I decided to use French Linen for this project.  It took two coats to cover the dark wood.  I distressed with a sanding pad and applied the Annie Sloan clear wax.  The chairs were recovered with updated fabric.  For now I decided to leave the Captain’s chairs the same color as the tabletop however I might change my mind and paint them too. imag3029

Here is the finished product.  It definitely lightened up the dining set. Next up… center a new light fixture over this large table!

imag3033

 

